Writing workshop: Show, don’t tell


This week at the Writers Club, we did a workshop on the infamous phrase in any writing circle, “Show, Don’t Tell.” It’s infamous, because it’s thrown around often with not a whole lot of explanation.

I wanted to clear away some of the confusion over this phrase for my group of writers. Or maybe it was for my own sake. Either way, rather than write a post about it adding to the confusion, I decided to make a quick slideshow summarizing what Show, Don’t Tell means to different writers and the methods they use to achieve the art of “showing.” I also threw in some writing prompts you can try out for each method, just for fun. My group worked on the first writing prompt and I did catch myself “telling” when I could have been “showing,” so let’s call it a success.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tell me what you think

